top of page


Liberty County Seal

The Liberty County Commissioners’ office is located on the ground floor of the Liberty County Courthouse. The Commissioners are in the office every Tuesday and the first and second Wednesday of every month from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Each Liberty County Commissioner is elected to serve a six year term. Elections are held every two years, ensuring board continuity. There are three Commissioner Districts in Liberty County. Commissioners must live in the District they are elected to represent.


District One - South

Justin Wickum represents  South District One. He was elected by special election in 2022 to serve the remaining four years of  former Commissioner, Maureen Wicks’, term.

District Two - Joplin


Joette Woods, elected in 2016, represents the Joplin District.

District Three - West


Larry Hendrickson, elected in 2006, represents  West District Three.

The  Commissioner positions will be on the ballot as follows:

  • West District Three: 2024

  • South District One: 2026

  • Joplin District Two: 2028

Map of Commissioner Districts

The Commissioner Districts were reviewed in January of 2023. No changes were made. 

For printable pdf of Commissioner Districts click button below

Larry Hendrickson serves on the following boards:


  • Hospital Board (chair)

  • NCAAA Board

  • Transit Committee

  • Council on Aging board

  • Airport Board

  • *MACo Ag Committee (chair)

  • *NACo Ag Steering Committee

Joette Woods serves on the following boards:

  • Liberty County School Transportation committee

  • Tri-County HRDC (Vice President)

  • Liberty County Mental Health Board

  • Board of Health (Chairman)

  • *MACo DPHHS (co-chair)

  • *MACo Justice and Public Safety

  • *NACo Ag Steering Committee


The Commissioners are responsible for exercising the County’s administrative, executive, and legislative powers as outlined in the Montana State Constitution and state statutes. This includes appointment of department heads and members of supervisory boards and committees.

The Commission supervises the administration of County government; approves the County budget; levies taxes; issues bonds; investigates claims against the County; administers subdivision review and approval; and supervises road construction and maintenance.

The Commissioners set policy for County government, represent the County, maintain County property, invest County funds, and authorize and sign all contracts obligating the County.


Commissioner Minutes are posted as they become available. Minutes are kept on file in the Clerk & Recorder's Office. 


Larry Hendrickson

Joette Woods

Justin Wickum


111 1st East

Chester, MT 59522



bottom of page