top of page
cropped chester train.png
Liberty County Seal

Disaster & Emergency Services

The Office of Disaster & Emergency Services (DES) is responsible for maintaining an emergency services system which includes all four phases of emergency management: mitigation, preparedness, response, and recovery.


  • Mitigation - activities that prevent an emergency or disaster, reduce the chance of an emergency or disaster happening, or reduce the damaging effects of unavoidable emergencies or disasters. 

  • Preparedness - development of plans and preparations made to save lives and to help response and rescue operations.  Examples of preparedness activities are emergency exercises and training, evacuation plans, resource inventories, mutual aid agreements, and public information/education.  

  • Response - action taken to save lives and prevent further property damage in a disaster or emergency situation.  It is putting your preparedness plan into action. 

  • Recovery -  actions taken to return to a normal or an even safer situation following an emergency or disaster. Short term recovery returns vital life support systems to minimum operating standards.  Long term recovery may continue for months or even several years after a disaster or emergency.  Recovery often includes mitigation measures against repeat of the disaster.  


Liberty County has plans in place for both man-made and natural hazardous situations. Our office works closely with Emergency Medical Services, the hospital, Law Enforcement and Fire services, including the private sector and different levels of government to ensure a prompt, rapid response to an emergency or disaster, and the following recovery period.

DES Coordinator

Kayla Johnson

DES Coordinator

Melissa Kantorowicz


618 East Adams Avenue

Chester, MT 59522



bottom of page